2018 Formula One begins

The 2018 Formula One (F1) World Championship, one of the most prestigious open-wheeled car races in the world, started on March 25 with the Australian Grand Prix in Melbourne, Australia. Sebastian Vettel of Germany won the race. He is with the Ferrari racing team.



Formula One consists of a series of races called Grand Prix. The number of Grand Prix races held in a year can change. The results of all the Grand Prix races are combined to determine the overall winner of the F1 Championship. The length of each race is around 300 km (200 miles). F1 started in Europe in 1950. Its roots are from Grand Prix motor racing which started in the early 1900s in France.


This year, there are going to be 21 Grand Prix races. The last race will be held on November 25 in Abu Dhabi, the capital of the United Arab Emirates. Fifteen drivers from ten teams are participating.


Image Credits: https://www.formula1.com for the Australian Grand Prix images, Morio for Vettel’s image
Sources: https://www.formula1.com