2018 Australian Open

The 2018 Australian Open, a world-famous tennis tournament, took place from January 15 to 28 in Melbourne, Australia. Roger Federer (from Switzerland, image) beat Marin Cilic (from Croatia) to win the men’s singles title. This was Federer’s 20th Grand Slam title. This makes him the first male to take 20 Grand Slam singles play titles.



The women’s singles winner was Caroline Wozniacki (from Denmark). She beat Simona Halep (from Romania). It was Wozniacki’s first Grand Slam title. There were winners in other categories as well.

The Australian Open is held every January and is one of the four Grand Slam tennis tournaments (the other three are the French Open, US Open, and Wimbledon).


Image Credits: https://ausopen.com for Federer’s image, Andrew Campbell for Caroline Wozniacki’s image
Sources: https://ausopen.com