A new leader in Kyrgyzstan

Kyrgyzstan has elected a new president. Sooronbay Jeenbekov won with over 50% of the votes. Jeenbekov is 58 years old and is a former prime minister. A president is elected for a single 6-year term.




Kyrgyzstan was a part of the Soviet Union for almost 70 years until the Soviet Union split up. Kyrgyzstan became an independent country in 1991. Bishkek is the capital of the country, and the two official languages are Kyrgyz and Russian. One of the most famous stories of the Kyrgyz is about a man named Manas who brought together 40 different tribes. If you look closely at the flag of Kyrgyzstan, the sun has 40 rays which represent the 40 Kyrgyz tribes that were united by Manas. The name “Kyrgyzstan” is broken up into three parts: “kyrg” (means forty), “-yz” (means tribes), and  “-stan” (means country), meaning “Land of the Forty Tribes”.

Image Credits: Government.ru for the image of Jeenbekov
Sources: https://www.bloomberg.com, CIA World Factbook