G-7 Summit

The G-7 summit is currently being held in Shima, Japan (May 26–27). It is a meeting of leaders from seven powerful countries around the globe. These countries are Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, United Kingdom, and the United States. The presidents of the European Union Council and the European Union Commission also participate in the meetings. Some of the issues being discussed at this summit are the global economy, trade, human rights, and climate change.

The G-7 was started in France in 1975. There were only six members then, and sure enough, it was called the G-6. The addition of Canada made it the G-7, and Russia bumped it to the G-8. In 2014, the membership of Russia was suspended. This was because of Russia’s actions in Ukraine, where Russia took over a region of the country called Crimea. Now it is back to being G-7. The group meets every year.

The G-7 is not the only “G” out there. There is the G-20, which is a group of 19 nations and the European Union. There is also the G-77, a group of countries which did start with 77 members, but now has 134. The group decided to stick with its original name though, which was very wise, otherwise it would have been changing its name every few months! 🙂

Here are the current leaders of the G-7 nations: Canada – Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, France – President François Hollande, Germany – Chancellor Angela Merkel, Italy – Prime Minister Matteo Renzi, Japan – Prime Minister Shinzo Abe, United Kingdom – Prime Minister David Cameron,  and the United States – President Barack Obama.


Image Credits: http://www.japan.go.jp/g7 for the leaders image and the flags image
Sources: https://www.g7germany.de, http://www.japan.go.jp/g7, ww.g77.org, https://www.g20.org