2015 Formula One

The 2015 Formula One (F1) World Championship, one of the most prestigious open-wheeled car races in the world, started on March 15 with the Australian Grand Prix in Melbourne, Australia. Lewis Hamilton, a 30-year-old from the United Kingdom, won the race. He is with the Mercedes racing team. Hamilton has won two F1 Championships in 2014 and 2008.



So what is “Formula One” and what is a “Grand Prix”? F1 consists of a series of races called Grand Prix. The number of Grand Prix races held in a year can change. The results of all the Grand Prix races are combined to determine the overall winner of the F1 Championship. The length of each race is around 300 km (200 miles). F1 started in Europe in 1950. Its roots are from Grand Prix motor racing which started in the early 1900s in France.

This year there are going to be 19 Grand Prix races. The last race will be held on November 29 in Abu Dhabi, the capital of the United Arab Emirates. Twenty drivers from ten teams are participating. Over the years, not only have cars sped up, but the time it takes to change the tires and refuel the car has decreased significantly. Here are two videos, one showing the time difference at pit stops, and another showing the highlights from the Australian Grand Prix.


Image Credits: http://www.formula1.com/ for the cars’ image, Stefan Brending for Hamilton’s image
Sources: http://www.formula1.com/