New leaders in Namibia and Uruguay

Namibia’s prime minister, Hage Geingob (image), won the country’s presidential elections. He won by a large majority. Geingob has been the country’s prime minister for the last two years.

Namibia gained its independence from South Africa in 1990. Its capital is Windhoek. It has a small population with just over 2 million people. Namibia has one of the least population densities amongst the countries in the world with about 3 people per square kilometer. (Singapore has one of the highest population densities in the world with about 8,000 people per square kilometer.)  Namibia is the first country in the world to add protection of the environment into its constitution. About 14% of its land is under the protection zone.

Uruguay also held presidential elections and Tabare Vazquez won. Vazquez had previously held the post of president from 2005 to 2010. He studied to be a cancer specialist before getting into politics. Montevideo is Uruguay’s capital, and the country’s population density is about 20 people per square kilometer. The flag of Uruguay has a sun on it (image).


Image Credits: Foreign and Commonwealth Office for Geingob’s image
Sources:,, CIA World Factbook,