Dakar Rally

The 2013 Dakar Rally finished on January 19 with winners in four categories: Cyril Despres from France in bikes, Stephane Peterhansel from France in cars, Eduard Nikolaev from Russia in trucks, and Marcos Patronelli from Argentina in quads (also known as all terrain vehicles – ATVs). The Dakar Rally is an annual long distance off-road race that takes place over two weeks. It started in 1978 and most of the races have started in Paris, France, and ended in Dakar, Senegal.

In 2009, the race was moved to South America because of political instability in Africa. This year, the race started in Peru, went through Argentina, and ended in Chile. The Dakar Rally is quite wild – it goes over sand dunes, rocks, grass, rivers, mud, and can be quite dangerous. This year’s race was more than 8,500 kilometers (5,200 miles) long. Here is a video showing some moments from 2013 Dakar Rally.


Image Credits: http://www.dakar.com for the Dakar Rally Map and logo